Posted in Chicken Scratch, The Hen & the Hammer, The Hen House, The Scoop from the Coop, Things to Crow About

Homemade Fire Starters

I love wood burning. Can I just throw that out there? I mean, I have a fire pit in the back of my house and I have one in the front. Every time someone tells me they are converting a fireplace to a gas log, I cringe. Why? Why would you want to do that? Woodstove, a Fire burning in a hearth—these are just a few of my favorite things. The crack, snap and pop of the wood when the flames lick against the logs. The slow hiss and moan as the fire builds it’s warmth, a warmth that beats back the chill of Fall and Winter. No cold bones here. No thank you. I don’t want to live in a world without that. It’s just too good for the soul. Know what I mean?

All that being said, I have something else to admit. Shamefully, I suck at starting fires. No future Pyromaniac here. No chance at me taking up Arson as a criminal activity. I’d get caught before I could get the first match to take. Maybe its impatience or me wanting to skip step “A” so I can get right to “B?” Who knows. Doesn’t matter, because I have a way of starting fires now, that I’ve discovered, which ROCKS!

I personally use this trick, and it won’t take an extra trip to the store or a ton of cash to get. You can say it’s free, in a way. In fact, if you have a Dryer, then you are half way there.

All you need is….(drumroll please)….

Dryer Lint and Empty Toilet Paper or Paper Towel Rolls.

I keep a pot in my Laundry Room where I stash all that annoying lint every time I dry clothes and have to empty the lint catcher. If you do your own laundry, then you know just as I do, a Dryer gives us more than our fair share. There’s enough lint coming out of my dryer a day, I could weave a new, dang sweater five sizes too big! That being said, anyone with a Dryer has an abundance of Lint. So instead of tossing it in the trash, toss it in a pot or bag or container.

By the pic below, it all looks chaotic until I sort them out.

 

IMG_6255

I keep baskets or containers in the bathroom to hide the empty toilet paper rolls, so that the kids and hubby can stash instead of tossing into the trash. Same in the kitchen.

All you do is stuff the lint inside the empty roll. For paper towels, I tear them in half. I think the short ones work best.

IMG_6258

Build your pyramid of wood and stuff a roll or two here or there. (Ignore the plastic. This is my outside fire pit where I toss trash or whatever I pick up in the yard.)

IMG_6256

Add fire to the lint.

IMG_6259

These little DIY starters catch easily but burn slow, making starting a fire a breeze. And all it takes are two things we’d normally toss into trash.

 

Author:

Stylist. Cover Artist. Author.

Need to Cluck or Crow? Reply Here!

