Posted in From Scratch, Seasonings, Sauces, Dressings & Mixes, The Scoop from the Coop

The Scoop on the Copycat A1 Recipe

A1

My kids are A1-aholics especially my youngest son who would willingly drink the stuff by the gallon. He puts it on everything – eggs, meat, VEGTABLES.

A1, as we all know, is pretty darn expensive. Most folks, I know, won’t even squeeze some into their budget. That being said, I got pretty excited when I stumbled onto a copycat recipe for the stuff.  Excitement with a double dash of reserve. See, I’ve dabbled in the hopeful realms of copycat recipes before. Many, many times. I’ve also failed enough to know, don’t get my hopes up until its all said and done and totally pans out.

Not even mentioning to my son that I found the recipe, I decided to take my chances while I was home all alone.This was my mornin’ project. winks

What’s the Scoop from the Coop?

Gotta say, I’m pretty damn please. Gotta also say, the kids didn’t hate it but there was a slight difference. I am calling out the Worcestershire Sauce. It is too strong for me. Next time, I’m going to make it without or with very little. I’ll do an update when that happens.

Before I give the recipe, though, I’m going to give a few warnings.

1. DO NOT substitute ANY of the ingredients. I know we are all famous for this. We realize we only lack one thing so we either skip it or substitute it with something else. Or, we don’t necessarily like a certain ingredient, like salt, so we omit it completely. DO NOT DO THAT WITH THIS ONE. After you make it the first time, if you want to adjust or add, then try it but don’t until you know first hand what the finished product will do.

2. This sauce has to cool off completely before you can taste it. Don’t even go by the smell of it when its hot. Seriously, I was given this warning and it was one of necessity. Wait till it completely cools, all the flavors have been allowed to combine and create themselves into what they are supposed to be. If you want to add more of something THEN and ONLY THEN, add it but remember, if you do—let it cool once more before you taste.

Ingredients

(This makes a 1 quart Jar of A1)

  • 1 cup of Cold Water
  • 1/2 cup of GOLDEN Raisins
  • 1 cup of BALSAMIC Vinegar
  • 1/2 cup of Worcestershire Sauce
  • 1/2 cup of Ketchup
  • 1/2 cup of DIJON Mustard
  • 1- 2 pinches of Cayenne
  • 1/2 teaspoon of Black Pepper
  • 2 cloves of Garlic – sliced
  • 1 teaspoon of Celery Seed
  • 1/2 teaspoon of Kosher Salt
  • Juice of 1/2 of an Orange.

Directions

Add all ingredients to a pan. Bring to a simmer and let simmer until garlic is soft. Pour and strain – pushing the raisins into the strainer releasing any and all juice. Push garlic through strainer. Pour in jar, place in fridge and cool completely. Only when it is cool, can you taste. If you want to add more of something, do so, but remember if you reheat, you will have to cool it all over again.

Canning

If my son likes this, I thought about hitting Cosco or buying up some ingredients and making this in Bulk. Although, its not really a pain to make it as you need it. Since my luck is pretty simple, I’ll need it when my Hair Appointments are booked or I’m playing Basketball, Softball or Football Mom—I think I’m going to try and make some up ahead. If you want to do this as well, Use the recipe above—knowing it makes 1 quart. Double, Triple or whatever as you need it. Then, use a Water—Bath Canner seal your jars. I would say, ten minutes, would be all the seals need.

Side note: If you try this out, adjust the recipe or add anything to it that made it even better, CLUCK or CROW in the Comments below and let us know!

Save

Author:

Stylist. Cover Artist. Author.

Need to Cluck or Crow? Reply Here!

